<u>18 VAC 76-40-10 et seq.</u> <u>Regulations Governing Emergency Contact Information</u> <u>Department of Health Professions</u>

Effective Date:

18 VAC 76-40-10. Requirement to report.

In accordance with provisions of § 54.1-2506.1, the following persons or entities who hold a license, certificate, registration or permit issued by a board within the Department of Health Professions and whose address of record is in Virginia, a contiguous state or the District of Columbia shall report emergency contact information as required by this chapter:

- 1. Certified massage therapists
- 2. Clinical psychologists
- 3. Clinical social workers
- 4. Dentists
- 5. Funeral service licensees, embalmers and funeral directors
- 6. Licensed acupuncturists
- 7. Licensed practical nurses
- 8. Licensed professional counselors
- 9. Medical equipment suppliers
- 10. Pharmacies
- 11. Pharmacists
- 12. Physical therapists
- 13. Physician assistants

- 14. Radiologic technologists
- 15. Registered nurses
- 16. Respiratory care practitioners
- 17. Surface transportation and removal service registrants
- 18. Veterinarians
- 19. Wholesaler distributors of pharmaceuticals

18 VAC 76-40-20. Emergency contact information.

A. Upon a request from the Department, a person or entity listed in 18 VAC 76-40-10 shall be required to report the following information for contact in the event of a public health emergency:

- <u>A telephone number at which he may be contacted during weekday business hours (8:00</u> <u>am - 5:00 pm);</u>
- A telephone number at which he may be contacted during non-business hours (5:00 pm 8:00 am weekdays and on weekends or holidays);
- 3. <u>A fax number at which he may be sent information concerning the emergency; and</u>
- 4. <u>An email address at which he may be sent information concerning the emergency.</u>

B. A person or entity shall only be required to report those fax numbers or email addresses to which he has direct access.

C. Information collected for the purpose of disseminating notification of a public health emergency shall not be published or made available for any other purpose.

18 VAC 76-40-30. Time limit for reporting.

A licensee, certificate or permit holder or registrant shall provide the required emergency contact information within a time period specified by the Director to be no less than 30 days or greater than 90 days from receipt of the request or notification from the Department. Whenever there is a change in the information that has been provided, the licensee, certificate or permit holder or registrant shall provide revised information to the Department within 30 days.

Certification

I certify that this regulation is full, true, and correctly dated.

Robert A. Nebiker Director Virginia Department of Health Professions

Date:_____